women leadership

Broadcast date: 25 February 2020 |13h00 GMT

08h00 New York | 14h00 London | 15h00 Johannesburg | 15h00 Paris
18h30 New Delhi | 21h00 Singapore

Join our upcoming webinar in partnership with African Utility Week and POWERGEN Africa, and hear from key experts on the future workforce of women in the power industry.

Key topics to be discussed include:

  • How can we harness the opportunities presented by the future of work to accelerate progress towards gender equality?
  • Shifting cultural behaviour
  • What practical programmes and policies can be built to provide economic empowerment for women
  • Cultivating mentorship to foster leadership opportunities

Speakers:

Dr. Linda Davis, CEO, Giraffe Bioenergy, Kenya

Corrie van der Wath, Chief Executive Officer, Matleng Solutions, South Africa

Adele Fadipe, Chief Executive Officer, Central Electric & Utilities Limited, Nigeria

Closing the gender gap in the energy sector

As we start a new decade, we invite you to openly discuss how to close the energy sector gender gap.

In 2018, EY suggested that the global women representation in the energy sector workforce was only 20%. However, there is a shift and growing consensus towards the necessity of women economic empowerment to drive growth and sustainability.

Under the theme of the future workforce of women in power, this live broadcast will discuss what practical programmes and policies can be built to provide empowerment for women and the advances towards mentorship to foster leadership opportunities.