HomeIndustry SectorsFinance and PolicyUS$2.5 million WAPP deal with South Korea

US$2.5 million WAPP deal with South Korea

19 December 2007 – The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have signed a deal with the Korean International Cooperation Agency (KOICA) for US$2.5 million for the West African Power Pool (WAPP). The agreement is for a feasibility study and basic design of an Information and Coordination Centre (ICC).

Dr Mohammed Chambas

Dr Mohammed Chambas,
president of ECOWAS

The agreement was signed by ECOWAS president, Dr Mohammed Chambas, and Mr Cho Kwang Geol from KOICA, in Burkina Faso at the beginning of December. The ICC, which will be based in Benin, will coordinate development among members of the WAPP, as well as ensuring efficient utilisation of the region’s energy resources.

"This will be done through the establishment of communication links to each of the region’s electricity utilities by 2009," a statement from ECOWAS said.

Seven of the 15 ECOWAS member states – Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Niger, Nigeria and Togo – are already members of the WAPP. Mali and Senegal have also established an interconnection through the Manatali hydro power station.

"The WAPP Secretariat has plans to strengthen the transportation of electricity in this pool by constructing a coastal transmission backbone which will allow more power to be transmitted," Dr Chambas said.