Tanzania’s government says it is to spend US$500 million during the 2013/2014 financial year to expand electricity networks in villages across the country. Tanzania’s deputy minister for energy and minerals George Simbachawene says the government aims to ensure that 30% of the country has electricity by 2015.

Tanzania’s Dailynews online reports that areas to receive electricity in the 2013/2014 financial year include Ziga, Mtumbi, Kwebona, Mshangai 2, Mategho and Mbwei. The tender for contractors was floated in August 2013 and implementation of the project would start in December 2013 and be completed in 2015.

The project includes putting up 33 kV electricity cables spanning 777 km in Tanga region. More than 360 villages in Kagera region will get electricity under the Rural Energy Agency (REA).

In Bukoba rural district, 58 villages were earmarked to get electricity. They include Bugwantora, Katendaguro, Katale, Kashekya, Ishozi, Tweyambe, Katano, Irango, Burugo, Matembe, Ntungamo, Kalema and Bishaka.

Over 100 villages in Muleba district were earmarked to get electricity under REA. Others are Kangantebe, Muhutwe, Mayondwe, Itoju, Kimbugu and Kamachumu. In Biharamulo district 16 villages were earmarked to get electricity. They include Busalala, Kasenga, Nyakanazi, Kabindi and Rwagati. In Kyerwa district 41 villages were earmarked to get electricity.