On Friday, Minister of Energy Tina Joemat-Pettersson was given the go ahead from South African President Jacob Zuma to sign a cooperation agreement with France to commence future strategies for nuclear energy.

According to a brief statement by presidential spokesperson Mac Maharaj, the details pertaining to the agreement will be deliberated between France and the South African energy department.

South Africa signed a nuclear power cooperation agreement with Russia in September, making this the second external nuclear deal which South Africa has welcomed. The deal made with Russia includes eight nuclear reactors with a total capacity to develop up to 9.6GW of nuclear power by 2030.

South African energy department says that they have entered over 60 power cooperation agreements covering the whole energy mix including base-loads and renewables.

Cape Town Nuclear Power Plant, Koeberg, contributes 5% of energy to South Africa’s total energy generation. The bulk comes from coal-fired power stations which contribute an enormous 90% with the remaining 5% generated from hydroelectric power.

Source: African Bulletin