HomeSouthern AfricaSANEA awards seek to honour those working 'behind the scenes'

SANEA awards seek to honour those working ‘behind the scenes’

11 March 2008 – The SANEA (South African National Energy Association) 2008 awards have been revamped for 2008, with two new categories being added and nominations being opened to outside SANEA.

Brian Statham

SANEA chairman, Brian Statham

The awards programme, designed to increase awareness of achievements within the energy sector, will be held in July and nominations are now open. The awards will honour, not only individual achievement, but also company and project achievements.

SANEA Chairman, Brian Statham, says the recent focus on the energy industry calls for attention to be drawn to the positive happenings within the industry – "the creative and the inspirational."

The awards recognise those how have promoted sustainable energy supply and use for the benefit of all.

The association, with the vision "energy people working together" says "Many individuals and companies have worked together and have made significant contributions towards these developments. Some of these are high profile and have become household names while many are the hard working ‘behind the scenes’ type who quietly get on and deliver. All are important to the development of South Africa."

The award categories are: The energy award, the energy project award, the recognition award, the service award, the energy journalism award and the education award. Previous recipients of the awards include Ian McCrae, Dawid Kotze, Bruce Crookes, Dick Dutkiewitz, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, and Allen Morgan.

Nominations close on 30th April.