HomeIndustry SectorsGenerationEskom announces new exec committee

Eskom announces new exec committee

Brian Molefe announces new exec committee to help achieve turnaround strategy. Pic credit: My dream course

In South Africa, state-owned power utility Eskom’s group chief executive Brian Molefe, has announced a new executive committee structure to facilitate the implementation of the utility’s turnaround strategy.

Molefe said: “The move to confirm the members of the executive committee is our commitment to further stabilise and strengthen Eskom’s leadership to ensure that all hands are on deck to deliver on our mandate.

“We remain cognisant of Eskom’s role in South Africa’s success in ensuring that we power the economy of this country in support of the National Development Plan (NDP).”

New executive committee

The following positions take effect immediately:

Anoj Singh, former Chief Financial Officer of state-owned rail, port and pipeline company, Transnet, assumed his position at Eskom as CFO on 1 October 2015.

Abram Masango, was the project director for the Kusile coal-fired project and has now been promoted to group executive.

The new group executive for generation, Matshela Koko, joined Eskom over 15 years, where he performed the role of group executive for commercial and technology.

Thava Govender, who has been with the utility for 24 years, has been appointed as the group executive for transmission.

The group executive for distribution has been handed over to professional engineer, Mongezi Ntsokolo.

Ayanda Noah, who has been with Eskom for 23 years has been appointed as the group executive for customer services.

Elsie Pule, a social worker by profession and an employee at Eskom for the past 18 years,  has been appointed as the acting group executive for human resources.

New positions in the office of group chief executive

Molefe confirmed two new positions in the office of the Group Chief Executive.

An employee at Eskom for 20 years, Freddy Ndou has been appointed as divisional executive for strategy support.

Brigadier General (Ret.) Tebogo Rakau, who previously worked as senior staff officer in the office of the South African National Defence Force as well as Chief of Security at Transnet Freight Rail, has assumed his new position as chief of divisional executive for security .

Suzanne Daniels assumed responsibility as the new company secretary on 1 October 2015.

Welcome from the top

On behalf of the Board, Dr Baldwin Ngubane, chairman of the Board congratulates all newly-appointed members of the executive committee and other executives.

“We are looking forward to their contribution in our efforts to continue with providing all South Africans with the much-needed electricity to power our economy.”

Ashley Theron
Ashley Theron-Ord is based in Cape Town, South Africa at Clarion Events-Africa. She is the Senior Content Producer across media brands including ESI Africa, Smart Energy International, Power Engineering International and Mining Review Africa.