HomeIndustry SectorsGenerationAfrican Power station manager of the year winner announced

African Power station manager of the year winner announced

Johan Prinsloo from Eskom’s Duvha Power station was announced as the African Power Station Manger of the year for 2007. The announcement was made at the closing session of the African Utility Week conference held in Cape Town.

The judges were looking for excellence on a specific project or achievement, introduced by a power plant manager that has lead to a remarkable improvement in power plant efficiency, or has had benefits for the community and environment. 6 criteria were specifically assessed:

  • Qualities of leadership
  • Safety systems and safety measure implements
  • Educational and training programmes
  • Energy efficiency programmes
  • Environmental considerations
  • Public awareness campaigns

One of the judges, Brian Statham noted “Johan Prinsloo stands out for having shared his considerable expertise not only within the confines of his own business but also far beyond the borders of his country. I refer to his work in Sierre Leone.

This is a true and manifest contribution to the upliftment of Africa and Johan has therefore demonstrated the true spirit of this conference and this award – the sharing of experience and knowledge in a spirit co-operation that extends across the length and breadth of our continent.

Johan Prinsloo is truly deserving of the accolade “AFRICAN Power Station Manager of the Year”.

Biographical information:

Johan joined Eskom in 1977 as an Apprentice Fitter and Turner at Arnot Power Station and was appointed as Power Station Manager at Duvha in 2003. Since 2002 the coal burn rate increased significantly from 0,457 kg/MwhSO to over 0,5 kg/MwhSO which was experienced with higher load factors due to supply and demand of electricity on the South African National Power Grid. This resulted in a complete change in management style to ensure high availability of units at each Power Station.

Under Johan’s leadership and outstanding management approach Duvha’s performance improved significantly and which resulted that Duvha was awarded with the JH Smith trophy in 2006/2007 financial year for the best performing Power Station in 2005/6 Of the key performers indicators that are used to evaluate the best performing power station are, Unit Capability Factor (UCLF), Availability, planned outages, operating cost control, safety and staff management of which Duvha was rated as the best in Eskom.

His academic qualification consists of a Masters Degree in Business Administration, Diploma in Management as well as a National Diploma in Mechanical Engineering. He has won various Managers Awards, such as Best Mechanical Apprentice in 1980, Best Eskom Student in 1989, Best Post Student in 1989, and Manager of the Year Awards respectively during 1995, 1998 and 2001.


Under his leadership the station and his managers won the following awards:

  • Technical award for the best Engineering Manager in Generation
  • Technical award for the best Production Manager in Generation 
  • Technical award for the best Supervisor of the year in Generation
  • JH Smith Award for the best Power Station for the 2005/2006 financial year.

Judges 2007:

Thembani Bukula, NERSA, South Africa
Nicholas McDiarmid, ESI Africa, South Africa
Lawrence Musaba, SAPP, Zimbabwe
Kaela Siame, Kafue Gorge Regional Training Centre, Zambia
Brian Stathan, SANEA, South Africa