Smart cities

Broadcast date: 02 April 2020 |13h00 GMT

08h00 New York | 13h00 London | 14h00 Paris | 15h00 Johannesburg | 18h30 New Delhi | 21h00 Singapore

Panellits:

Brian Williams, Industry Advisor: Energy & Natural Resources, SAP EMEA South

Songo Didiza, Founding Director of Green Building Design Group

Dr Minnesh Bipath, Acting CIO and General Manager: Smart Grids, Data & Knowledge Management at SANEDI

This webinar will address:

  • Cultivating the smart city framework for African cities

Urban growth is a strain on the capacity of government to provide basic services, such as water, electricity and public transport.

It is estimated that currently 40% of Africa’s population lives in cities and this is expected to increase to 50% by the mid-2030s.

The World Population Review estimates the Lagos population to be over 21 million, while Nairobi is predicted around 4 million and Johannesburg at approximately 5 million.

Within this encroaching threat lies the opportunity to engineer Africa’s smart cities.

According to the Edison Electric Institute and the Smart Cities Council: “Far too many cities and electric companies are developing their programmes in isolation.”’

Cities and electric companies should not miss this opportunity to work together in building robust smart cities in Africa.

Join this webinar to learn about developing smart cities of the future.