The National Energy Regulator (NERSA) is a regulatory authority established as a juristic person in terms of Section 3 of the National Energy Regulator Act. NERSA’s mandate is to regulate the Electricity, Piped-Gas and Petroleum Pipeline industries in terms of the Electricity Regulation Act.



 Department of Trade and Industry promote structural transformation, towards a dynamic industrial and globally competitive economy; Provide a predictable, competitive, equitable and socially responsible environment, conducive to investment, trade and enterprise development; Broaden participation in the economy to strengthen economic development; and Continually improve the skills and capabilities of the dti to effectively deliver on its mandate and respond to the needs of South Africa’s economic citizens.





The Department of Energy is responsible for ensuring exploration, development, processing, utilisation and management of South Africa’s mineral and energy resources. As the country’s economy continues to grow, energy is increasingly becoming a key focus.



 The Department of Public Enterprises (DPE) is the shareholder representative of the South African Government with oversight responsibility for state-owned enterprises (SOEs) in key sectors, including: Defence, Energy, Forestry, ICT, Mining and Transport.