New board appointed, EIUG

The Energy Intensive User Group (EIUG) of Southern Africa and its associated organisation, the Industry Task Team on Climate Change (ITTCC), have announced new members for 2018, elected at the recent AGMs of the two bodies.

EIUG Chairman is Tsakani Mthombeni, with more than 10 years of experience, currently Group Head of Carbon and Energy at Gold Fields, tasked with setting the group’s energy and carbon management strategy and supporting its execution across the group’s gold mining operations in South Africa, Ghana, Australia and Peru. Tsakani has also worked at the Technology Innovation Agency, Anglo American, Eskom and Cape Town University.

EIUG has two Co-Deputy Chairmen:   Herman Pretorius and Seeralan Chinaboo.

Herman Pretorius is a Principal Specialist at Sasol. He is currently working in the Category Management team responsible for all Utility Energy planning, strategies and contracts for Sasol South Africa. He has 20 years’ experience in electrical engineering, co-generation, power generation, energy management, and energy efficiency, as well as on commercial interests such as electricity pricing and tariffs, power purchase agreements, NERSA licensing, contract negotiations, contract management and strategic planning.

Seeralan Chinaboo is a heavy current electrical engineer in the role of Principal Electrical Engineer at Exxaro Resources.  He has 16 years’ experience working predominantly in the mining industry.  He has held various roles in project engineering, management, and maintenance, obtaining his Government Certificate of Competence (GCC) for both Mining and Factories.


ITTCC Deputy Chairman is Shailendra Rajkumar who is a Senior Policy Advisor at Sasol. Over the past 12 years he has worked in various parts of Sasol’s value chain including operations, international business, technology, business development, policy and strategic projects – predominantly focussed on the areas of environmental management, climate change and energy.  Shailendra advises on the Group’s strategic projects, top priorities and supports integrated strategy development initiatives while integrating with key stakeholders on various platforms locally and globally.

Shailendra currently serves on the Advisory Committee of the South African Centre for Carbon Capture and Storage and provides specialist input to a number of business and trade associations.

ITTCC Chairman is Sherman Indhul, an Executive Manager for Climate Change at Transnet. His experience over the past 15 years in the public and private sectors has led to a focus on sustainability, and specifically on climate change over the last six years.

He currently serves as a steering committee member of the National Climate Change Flagship Programme, the NBI advisory committee on environment and society, an advisory committee member of UNISA Department of Business Management and is a network member of the global think tank, SustainAbility.


African Utility Week

Ashley Theron
Ashley Theron-Ord is based in Cape Town, South Africa at Clarion Events-Africa. She is the Senior Content Producer across media brands including ESI Africa, Smart Energy International, Power Engineering International and Mining Review Africa.