HomeRegional NewsAfricaWebinar 16 November: Deciphering extended reliability testing for solar PV systems

Webinar 16 November: Deciphering extended reliability testing for solar PV systems

Tuesday 16 November 2021 

12h00 GMT | 13h00 London | 13h00 Lagos | 14h00 Johannesburg |

15h00 Nairobi 

Duration: 60 minutes 

The number of solar PV systems being installed worldwide continues to increase as prices fall and decarbonisation incentives ramp up.  

Field studies show that a significant number of modules fail in the field long before their expected end of lifetime, and often within the first ten years. This shows that the IEC testing is not sufficient to predict the long term durability and reliability of solar PV modules.  

Testing and certification of modules can also play a big part in the levelised cost of energy (LCOE) of a solar PV system. But, why do some modules end up costing more than others, even if they all are deemed “tier 1”? 

During this webinar, we will discuss what these extended reliability tests really mean for the quality, reliability and performance of Solar PV modules. 

Discussion points 

  • What are the different kinds of reliability testing that can be done? What do the different tests determine? 
  • Should the client be paying attention to testing beyond the IEC standards? 
  • Why are tests important to determine quality, reliability and performance? 
  • Are there any benefits to extending the service life of a solar PV module beyond the expected 20-25 years? 

Moderator  

Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl, Editor, ESI Africa, South Africa 

  

Speakers  

  • Kevin Robinson, Technical Sales Manager, MEA – Longi Solar, South Africa 
Theresa Smith
Theresa Smith is a content producer for Clarion Events Africa.

LATEST FEATURES