HomeRegional NewsInternationalDavos recognises sustainable mobility through e-vehicle innovation

Davos recognises sustainable mobility through e-vehicle innovation

This year’s WEF, taking place this week, has welcomed the partnership between the city of Davos and ABB, who are providing e-infrastructure for public and private transportation.

Davos residents and WEF guests can experience the pioneering TOSA bus for themselves.

Transport: E-Vehicle innovation

Developed by ABB in Switzerland, the TOSA bus, is already in use in Geneva and will soon be implemented in the French city of Nantes.

It can recharge its battery in just 20 seconds as passengers board and disembark.

In Davos, it will operate on the busy Line 1, running from the tourist center to the hospital. This is the first time TOSA technology is being used in an Alpine region.

The idea is to run the pilot system under extreme winter weather conditions.

In addition, electric cars transporting attendees around Davos will be able to recharge their batteries at eight newly installed ABB fast-charging stations.

Collectively, the TOSA e-bus and the charging stations provide a powerful, real-world demonstration of state-of-the-art sustainable transportation technologies, which are seeing increased deployment throughout the world as e-mobility becomes the driving force for bringing energy efficiency with low environmental impact to cars, buses, trains, ships and cable cars.

“The shift to electric vehicles is no longer a question of if, but rather of when and how quickly,” said ABB CEO Ulrich Spiesshofer. Read more…

“EVs are becoming increasingly attractive to motorists. As well as being ecologically responsible, they’re becoming less expensive to buy and maintain,” Spiesshofer added.


Featured image: Stock

Ashley Theron
Ashley Theron-Ord is based in Cape Town, South Africa at Clarion Events-Africa. She is the Senior Content Producer across media brands including ESI Africa, Smart Energy International, Power Engineering International and Mining Review Africa.