HomeRegional NewsAfricaWebinar 30 Nov: C&I projects in Africa

Webinar 30 Nov: C&I projects in Africa

Tuesday 30 November 2021

12h00 GMT | 12h00 London | 13h00 Lagos | 14h00 Johannesburg | 15h00 Nairobi

Duration: 60 minutes

Commercial, industrial and institutional commitments to clean power and sustainability have seen magnificent growth in recent years.

In Africa, the bulk of C&I solar PV installations is centred on commercial, tourism, manufacturing, and extractive industry sectors, with shopping centres becoming an increasingly important sub-segment.

This growth is spurred by challenges facing the C&I market, which include a lack of access to electricity and the financing and pricing of backup systems. However, accessing debt financing from local and international markets is difficult due to the small capacity size of C&I projects. In addition, regulations for these small projects can prove to be a hindrance.

As such, solar PV and storage system market developments will be unpacked for you in an upcoming information sharing webinar.

Join GoodWe and an industry expert from Elum Energy as they discuss what makes Africa such an attractive market as well as the challenges that come with developing projects in the region.

The panel will address how partnering with more experienced international developers may help local developers and project owners with a smaller track record to obtain financing for their solar installations.

Discussion points include

  • Overview of the current C&I solar PV and battery storage market
  • The challenges faced in building C&I plants
  • The possible solutions to execute new projects
  • Case studies of actual projects completed

The panel of experts are

Andrew Tyler, sales & business development manager for sub-Saharan Africa | GoodWe
David Havenga, technical manager for Southern Africa | GoodWe
Gabriel Rechard, sales manager for sub-Saharan Africa | Elum Energy

Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl
As the Editor of ESI Africa, my passion is on sustainability and placing African countries on the international stage. I take a keen interest in the trends shaping the power & water utility market along with the projects and local innovations making headline news. Watch my short weekly video on our YouTube channel ESIAfricaTV and speak with me on what has your attention.

LATEST FEATURES