commercial financing
Featured image: Stock

South African state-owned power utility, Eskom, on Thursday said that non-payment of debt for the bulk supply of electricity has resulted in scheduled supply interruptions to some Free State municipalities from today, 23 March 2018.

As published in public notices, Eskom has considered the implementation of scheduled interruption of bulk supply to the following municipalities (overdue debt as at 31 January 2018 indicated in brackets):

  • Nala Local Municipality (R180,972,200.62)
  • Dihlabeng Local Municipality (R192,972,097.83)
  • Maluti A Phofung Local Municipality (R2,627,895,261.10)
  • Matjhabeng Local Municipality (R1,742,710,459.06)

Payment arrangements

According to the parastatal, payment arrangements have been made with Nala, Dihlabeng and Matjhabeng Local Municipalities resulting in suspension of the planned interruptions.

Adherence to these arrangements will be closely monitored and failure to honour the agreements will result in the implementation of planned interruptions with 48 hours’ notice.

Interruption of bulk supply to Maluti A Phofung Local Municipality has been postponed pending the outcome of legal proceedings.

Negotiations with Moqhaka Local Municipality have also been successfully concluded.

For more information and updates, customers can contact the Eskom Contact Centre on 08600 ESKOM (08600 37566).