Webinar broadcast: Tuesday, 7 May 2019

12h30 GMT | 14h30 Johannesburg | 13h30 London |14h30 Paris | 18h00 New Delhi | 08h30 New York

The future success of renewable energy and electric vehicles for both consumer markets and utility-scale markets is going to depend largely on the ability to store that energy.

However, current battery storage technologies are expensive, only suitable for short-term back-up, frequency regulation of the grid, and micro-grid applications. There is also the challenge around stability (some are prone to explode), the longevity of the units, and environmental disposal of the used products.

This webinar unpacks:

  • Mining – what minerals are required for energy storage, wherein Africa can they be found and what volumes are required to support this growing market
  • Factors influencing the supply and demand for battery storage commodities
  • The latest innovations in battery storage technologies
  • Unpacking solutions to address the challenges in developing a sustainable battery storage ‘cradle-to-grave’ market

Speakers:

Mikhail Nikomarov, CEO, Bushveld Energy

Thomas Hillig, Managing Director, THEnergy

Harry Greaves, Executive Director, Prospect Lithium Zimbabwe (Pvt) Limited, Part of the Prospect Resources Group