HomeRegional NewsAfricaTODAY: Future cybersecurity considerations of the energy sector for Africa

TODAY: Future cybersecurity considerations of the energy sector for Africa

Date: 25 November 2021

Time: 12h00 GMT | 14h00 SAST | 15h00 EAT

Duration: 30 minutes


Operational Technology (OT) Leaders continue to face cybersecurity challenges as the shift to work from home due to the pandemic has accelerated IT-OT network convergence.

This accelerated digital transformation puts OT Organizations at increased risk to cyber-attacks.

Join us for a high-level discussion around the Future cybersecurity considerations of the energy sector for Africa and how the Fortinet Security Fabric can enable the Energy Sector.

Speakers:

Matthew Taljaard, Subject matter expert: operational technology cybersecurity, Fortinet

Matthew Taljaard holds a BSc. (Hons) Degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Cape Town, a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), and is a recognized Professional Engineer (Pr. Eng.) from the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA).

He is passionate about Operational Technology (OT) security and has over eight years of experience working as an OT Cyber Security Engineer for a Large Power Utility. Matthew has experience from securing critical infrastructure, to IT/OT convergence, to developing cyber security strategies.

Matthew now works with Fortinet as a Subject Matter Expert for Operational Technology Cyber Security to deliver OT cybersecurity solutions to customers over Africa.

LATEST FEATURES