Webinar broadcast: 29 August 2019

13:00 GMT | 09:00 New York | 14:00 London | 15:00 Johannesburg | 15:00 Paris | 18:30 New Delhi | 21:00 Singapore

Speeding up wind energy growth, a dynamic outlook

To date, the global wind industry has realised a total of 51.3GW of new wind energy installations, enabled by market-based mechanisms including auctions, tenders and Green Certificates.

To add to this capacity, the African wind market is anticipated to inject 6GW of additional wind capacity between 2019 and 2023.

In South Africa, the industry has been making inroads and in support of this growth, the government launched a Wind Atlas highlighting the importance of accurately determining the availability of wind across the country.

In the east, while officially launching Kenya’s 310MW Lake Turkana Wind Farm, President Uhuru Kenyatta recognised the importance of the project underlining that it will increase the country's electricity supply by 13%.

The above developments are all supportive of the growth of the wind industry and are sure to safeguard Africa’s stance in the global arena.

Join us for a webinar, which will look into wind power trends and opportunities.

Tune in on Thursday August 29 at 13:00 GMT to learn more on:

  • How to increase wind capacity on the grid
  • Best legal scenario to secure project development
  • Technical challenges around offshore and onshore wind developments
  • The socio-economic and environmental benefits
  • Lessons learnt and the way forward

Confirmed speakers:

Katherine Persson, SAWEA representative and General Manager: Africa, Windlab

Jonathan Visser, Project Manager & Director of Integrated Wind Power, South Africa

Andrea Isidori, Energy Advisor at the Danish Energy Agency, Denmark