Power strategy
Featured image: Stock

Webinar broadcast: 27 June 2019

12h30 GMT | 14h30 Johannesburg | 13h30 London | 14h30 Paris | 18h00 New Delhi | 08h30 New York

South Africa’s power utility Eskom is broke and, according to energy experts, no amount of government bailout will fix the problem.

The country’s historical power strategy of managing large-scale assets, centralised generation, and monopoly distribution is shifting and putting pressure on traditional fossil fuel generation and on policy to swiftly change direction. 

In this power strategy webinar, which follows on from a conference session that took place at African Utility Week and POWERGEN Africa, we will continue the discussion into unpacking the way forward and recommendations to map out the energy future for South Africa through the IRP and other policy guidelines.

Tune in on Thursday June 27 to learn more on:

  • The role of municipalities in South Africa’s IRP
  • The scenarios of an unbundled utility landscape
  • The transition from the predominant use of fossil fuels
  • The best-cost scenario for supplying energy

Confirmed and invited speakers:

Nhlanhla Ngidi, Head of Energy & Electricity, SALGA

Nosizwe Dlengezele, MD for Gas & Power Systems, General Electric

Neeraj Sanjay Mense, Consultant: Energy & Environment, Frost & Sullivan MEA

Silas Zimu, CEO, Africa Energy Corporation