HomeRegional NewsAfricaWebinar recording: Compact nuclear power: Affordable, investable, reliable, low carbon power for...

Webinar recording: Compact nuclear power: Affordable, investable, reliable, low carbon power for Africa

28 September 2021

12pm New York | 4pm GMT | 5pm London | 6pm South Africa | 7pm Kenya

Duration: 60 minutes

Rolls-Royce SMR would like to invite you to an intimate panel discussion with speakers representing the African public sector, private industry players and Rolls-Royce’s nuclear technology experts.

We will discuss the role of nuclear in the energy transition to a low carbon future; hear from young nuclear rising stars about the future capability of nuclear in their country; and debate on policy and resource mobilisation required today to make nuclear a viable solution across Africa tomorrow.

This session is part of the 2021 Africa Climate Week programme and will be hosted as part of “Track 3: Seizing transformation opportunities – led by UNEP”.

Why you should attend this session:

  • Understand how nuclear can be an important contributor to the low carbon transition energy mix.
  • Discuss the benefits of the small modular reactor solutions.
  • Consider the main obstacles to the application of nuclear in Africa.

Topics for discussion:

  • The compact nuclear systems opportunity: energy, desalination, electrification, and fuels – cross-sector collaboration to drive systems transformation.
  • Fuelling nuclear capability: how the private sector could drive skills, equipment and job creation.
  • Towards nuclear compliance: the policy and resource mobilisation required today to make nuclear a viable solution across Africa tomorrow.

Panellists:

  • Claire Volkwyn, Head of Content, Enlit Africa – Moderator
  • Gaopalelwe Santswere, Executive Chairperson of the South African Young Nuclear Professionals Society (SAYNPS) on the Nuclear Build Programme in SA
  • David Nicholls, Chairman of The Board, South African Nuclear Energy Corporation
  • Sophie MacFarlane Smith, Rolls-Royce, Head of Customer Business

REGISTER TO WATCH ON DEMAND:

LATEST FEATURES