electric vehicle

Webinar broadcast: 22 October 2019

13h00 GMT| 09h00 New York |14h00 London | 15h00 Johannesburg |
15h00 Paris | 18h30 New Delhi | 21h00 Singapore

The adoption of electric vehicles (EVs) is increasing at a rapid pace. As of 2018, the global EV fleet exceeded 5.1 million and over 2.8 million EVs are expected to be sold this year.

In its 2019 edition of the Global EV Outlook, the International Energy Agency (IEA) notes that a variety of policy measures have been playing a critical role in the upsurge of this market.

According to the IEA report, leading countries in the EV market include China, the US and Norway. These countries are providing support in the form of fuel economy standards, incentives for zero- and low-emissions vehicles as well as support for EV charging infrastructure, which all help in bridging the cost gap between electric and conventional vehicles.

With many EVs now out-performing their fossil-powered counterparts’ capabilities on the road, energy planners are looking to bring innovation to the garage — since 95% of a car’s time is spent parked.

The result is that with careful planning and the right infrastructure in place, parked and plugged-in EVs could be the battery banks of the future, stabilising electric grids powered by wind and solar energy.

However, even with this positive outlook, the South African EV market is still experiencing slow adoption mainly due to:

  • 45% import taxes and duties on EVs
  • Range that you can travel with an EV on one battery charge
  • Limited access to electricity for charging facilities

In tackling the latter, national power supplier Eskom announced that it is currently engaged in research on photovoltaic and battery storage options to power EVs in the near future.

Join our upcoming webinar, which will provide insights on South Africa’s current EV status and what the future holds for this market.

The webcast will address:

  • How to unlock local EV potential
  • Current research and development
  • Lessons from abroad

Speakers

Hiten Parmar, Director at uYilo eMobility Programme, South Africa