HomeRegional NewsAfricaSession 26 Oct: To LNG or not, is that the question?

Session 26 Oct: To LNG or not, is that the question?

Tuesday 26 October 2021

09h30 GMT | 10h30 London | 10h30 Lagos | 11h30 Johannesburg | 12h30 Nairobi

Duration: 60 minutes

If Africa needs to move its baseload generation away from coal assets, what is going to replace it? Gas such as LNG is a proposed pathway, but does this not lock us into a different fossil fuel? 

Then again, even at the extreme end of projecting the continent’s capacity to change existing coal power stations to gas or create new gas projects, Africa only emits 2-3% of the world’s greenhouse gases right now. So increasing gas capacity is not going to change the continent’s overall carbon emissions in the global scheme of things by too much. 

Investors and regulators are starting to grapple with the idea that climate change is turning into an economic risk and urging DFIs to divest from future fossil fuel investments in Africa.   

But, is the renewable energy sector robust enough to step into the gap and take up baseload slack, or is LNG the answer?

Enlit Africa is the unifying brand for African Utility Week and POWERGEN Africa.
Follow the latest conversation during the digital event from 26-28 October 2021.

Discussion points 

  • Is LNG the transition energy source while the renewable energy sector ramps up or should we rather be introducing more RE as coal power stations are decommissioned? 
  • What does it take to set up an LNG infrastructure before 2050? 
  • Do we bank on hydrogen technology coming online in the next two decades or hedge bets it might not happen? 

Speakers 

Theresa Smith
Theresa Smith is a content producer for Clarion Events Africa.

LATEST FEATURES