HomeRegional NewsAfricaSession 26 Oct: Heading to COP26

Session 26 Oct: Heading to COP26

Tuesday 26 October 2021

13h00 GMT | 14h00 London | 14h00 Lagos | 15h00 Johannesburg |

16h00 Nairobi 

Duration: 60 minutes 

The 26th United Nations Climate Change Conference of the Parties, COP26, will gather the world’s interested parties, physically and digitally, to “accelerate action towards the goals of the Paris Agreement and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change” at the beginning of November. 

All manner of civil society, companies and people on the frontline of climate change will fight to make their voices heard, as the world’s government officials try not to blink first. Promises will be made as compromises are struck. But, realistically speaking, what will happen in real life and more importantly, what does Africa want out of COP26? 

Countries are being asked to present ambitious 2030 emissions reductions targets that align with reaching net zero by the middle of the century. Africa is not a significant source of greenhouse gas emissions. However, like other developing and emerging nations, the continent’s countries are particularly vulnerable to climate change. 

Africa’s priorities for COP26 include adaptation, climate finance, a market mechanism (Article 6), ambitious NDCs, a transparency mechanism, meeting pre-2020 mitigation commitments and recognising Africa’s unique needs and circumstances.  

Engage with some of Africa’s energy organisations who will be trying to make their voices heard, as they speak on a roundtable about Africa’s road to COP26. Find out what they believe they should be lobbying for when it comes to climate matters to make sure their constituencies needs are met. 

Enlit Africa is the unifying brand for African Utility Week and POWERGEN Africa.
Follow the latest conversation during the digital event from 26-28 October 2021.

COP26 roundtable discussion points

*Has the COVID-19 crises derailed the climate finance agenda? 

*How does transferring environmentally sound technologies from developed nations to developing nations (as stipulated in Article 4 of the UNFCCC) work for Africa?  

*Are NDCs truly aligned with energy demand patterns in-country?  

*How can Africa hold developed countries to their climate responsibilities, especially when comes to address their cumulative GHG emissions? Where are the clear targets for reaching net-zero emissions by 2050? 

Moderator 

Dr Roland Nkwain Ngam, programme manager: climate justice & socio-ecological transformation, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation, South Africa

Panel Experts

Theresa Smith
Theresa Smith is a content producer for Clarion Events Africa.

LATEST FEATURES