28 May 2013 – Rechargeable batteries work wins global energy prize

Work on the physics of battery technology has won the Global Energy Prize for 2013, the largest energy research grant of its size in the world. It is one of the world’s most prestigious awards recognising achievements globally in energy research and technology. The prize comes with a total US$1.2 million endowment to help recipients fund future research projects.
One of the recipients of the 2013 Global Energy Prize is Dr Akira Yoshino of Japan for ground-breaking work in the development of the lithium-ion rechargeable battery, the beating heart of mobile electronic devices, electric vehicles and hybrid electric vehicles. Yoshino is a Fellow at the Asahi Kasei corporation and is president of the Lithium Ion Battery Technology and Evaluation Centre (LIBTEC) in Japan. The other recipient is Vladimir Evgenyevich Fortov, of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the department for power industry, mechanical engineering, mechanics and control processes in Russia, for his pioneering work in thermodynamic, thermophysical, electrophysical, and electronic properties of fluids and construction materials.
This year’s laureates were selected from a field of 82 researchers by their peers. Candidates can be nominated only by the highest-rated scientists, which include Laureates of the Kyoto, Max Planck, Wolf and Balzan prizes and Nobel Prize laureates in physics or chemistry.