Image credit: African Utility Week

The annual African Utility Week Industry Awards, which celebrates the pioneering utilities, projects and people in the energy and water industry on the continent during 2017/2018, has announced the finalists for each of the 12 categories.

And the finalists are…

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Elijah Sichone, Regional Electricity Regulators Association of Southern Africa (RERA), Namibia
  • Siengui Apollinaire Ki, West African Power Pool, Burkina Faso
  • Alex Gisagara, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Roland Schulze, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Irene Muloni, Ministry of Energy, Uganda

Outstanding Contribution Award: Power (Sponsored by Eaton)

  • Mateus Magala, Electricidade de Moçambique, E.P., Mozambique
  • Ana Hajduka, Africa GreenCo, United Kingdom
  • Jean Bosco Mugiraneza, Rwanda Energy Group Limited (REG), Rwanda
  • Chris Prengels, Tiger Power, Belgium / Tanzania
  • Mouhamadou Makhtar Cissé, Société Nationale d’Électricité du Sénégal (SENELEC), Senegal
  • Herta von Stiegel, Ariya Capital, Kenya

Outstanding Contribution Award: Water

  • Silver Mugisha, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Paul Yillia, International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis, Austria
  • Anthony Turton, University of Free State, South Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Young Leader

  • Rebekah Shirley, Power for All, Kenya
  • Rose Mutiso, Mawazo Institute, Kenya
  • Beatrice Muthoni, KTDA Power Company, Kenya
  • Edmand Aijuka, Kamata, Uganda

Energy/Water Reporter of the Year Award 

  • Saya Pierce, Smile 90.4 FM, South Africa
  • Newton Sibanda, Zambia Daily Mail, Zambia
  • Emeka Anuforo, Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria
  • Chris Yelland, EE Publishers, South Africa
  • Fredrick Mugira, Water Journalists Africa Network, Uganda
  • Sally Ngakanyanga, Independent Journalist, Zimbabwe

Power Utility of the Year Award (Sponsored by Lucy Electric)

  • Public Utilities Corporation, Seychelles
  • Compagnie Ivoirienne d’Électricité (CIE), Côte d’Ivoire
  • Electricidade de Moçambique, Mozambique
  • Société Nationale d’Électricité du Burkina Faso (SONABEL), Burkina Faso

Water Utility of the Year Award (Sponsored by SBS Tanks)

  • Office National de l’Eau et de l’Assainissement (ONEA), Burkina Faso
  • National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Sénégalaise des Eaux, Senegal

Grid-Tied Renewable Energy Project Award – 10MW+ (Sponsored by Aberdare Cables)

  • Access Power, EREN RE, Uganda
  • XiNa Solar One Thermo Solar Plant, Abengoa, South Africa
  • Building Energy – Tororo Solar Power Station, Uganda Small-Scale Sustainable Energy

Project Award – ≤5MW (Sponsored by Standard Bank)

  • Solarkiosk, Germany / Zambia
  • InnoSun Energy Holding, Namibia
  • Jiro-Ve, Madagascar
  • Rafiki Power Germany / Tanzania
  • National Department of Tourism – Robben Island Solar Photovoltaic Microgrid Project,

South Africa Innovative Technology of the Year Award (Sponsored by Steinmuller)

  • Azuri Technologies Ltd, United Kingdom
  • I Drop Water, South Africa
  • SENER, South Africa

Deal of the Year Award

  • Africa Finance Corporation, Nigeria
  • Metito, United Arab Emirates
  • Albatros Energy Mali, Mali
  • Ministry of Energy, Zambia

The Digital Solution of the Year Award (Sponsored by ESI Africa)

  • National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
  • Siemens (Pty) Ltd, South Africa
  • Eskom, South Africa

Where to book a seat: at the registration desk at the CTICC, Cape Town on or before 16 May 2018. ESI