Digitisation – the future of the network part 2

Webinar broadcast date: Thursday, 15 April 2021 Duration: 60 minutes

12h30 GMT | 13h30 London | 13h30 Lagos | 14h30 Johannesburg | 15h30 Nairobi | 16h30 Dubai

The challenges of achieved higher penetration of DER

The digitalisation of the energy sector plays an important part in the growth of distributed energy resources (DERs), which is providing much-needed energy access but is also cause for concern around the stability and resilience of the electricity network.

Therefore, following on from a previous webinar highlighting the consequences of increased penetration of renewable generation, part two of this presentation looks deeper into the issues of resolving intermittency of generation and the subsequent impact of reverse current flows.

To resolve the problem of intermittency requires more distributed energy resources, including storage. This then poses the problem of how to facilitate more connections and then to manage the congestion on the network, along with the subsequent voltage increases resulting from reverse power flows.

How this is co-ordinated as well as potential power quality issues will also be discussed with the view of using active network management and adaptive protection techniques.

Lucy Electric and ESI Africa invite you for a 60-minute discussion where the experts will address your questions and concerns.

What you will learn:

  • How to resolve intermittency with more generation, more storage, co-ordination through digital controls to ultimately support more connections.
  • What to do when you have achieved more connections and are experiencing a congested network.
  • How to manage the network from a technical perspective? Reverse power flows cause local voltage rises, both of which impact protection coordination.
  • What smart switchgear scenarios involving DER and protection co-ordination are at your disposal.

Speakers: Phil Dingle, Marketing Director | Lucy Electric Tim Spearing, Automation Product Manager | Lucy Electric

Moderator: Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl, Editor | ESI Africa

  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Date

Apr 15 2021

Time

GMT
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Lucy ELectric

Organizer

Lucy ELectric
Website
https://www.lucyelectric.com/