HomeEvent NewsExecutive Director of the IEA to chair opening session at the Africa...

Executive Director of the IEA to chair opening session at the Africa Energy Forum 2012, Berlin, 26-28 June

Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA), Maria Van der Hoeven, has confirmed to chair the opening session of the Africa Energy Forum 2012 (AEF 2012). This session will hear strategic assessments of Africa’s growing power sector and the drive to increase international investment in power projects across the continent. Alongside Ms. Van Der Hoeven and Hon. Dr. Philipp Rosler, German Minister for Economics and Technology, government Ministers for Energy from Ghana, Mozambique, Namibia, Republic of the Congo, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe will discuss their strategies supporting investors and sustainable industrial development.

Other key stakeholders from the African power sector to have recently confirmed their participation at AEF 2012 include: His Excellency Dr. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan (Governor of Delta State, Nigeria), Hon. Alhaji Inusah Fuseini (Deputy Minister for Energy, Ghana) Karen Breytenbach (Senior Project Advisor – Financial Analysis, South African National Treasury), Charles Darku (Chief Executive Officer, GRIDCo), Ghana Yves Muyange (Director General of EWSA, Rwanda), Joseph Njoroge (Managing Director & CEO of Kenya Power) and Augusto de Sousa Fernando (Executive Chairman of Electricidade de Mozambique). As well as its long-term supporters, the Africa Energy Forum in Berlin is attracting a host of new international investors, technology and solution providers, including Credit Suisse, E-ON, First Solar, Fluor, Hitachi, International Power/GDF Suez, Investec, Sasol New Energy and SMA Solar Technology to name a few, reinforcing reports that Africa’s power sector is moving towards a far more pragmatic stage of development.

With 19 African countries represented so far, the players in the African power, gas and renewable energy sector will be in Berlin for AEF 2012 from 26 to 28 June, as well as the essential industries required to develop energy projects. A combination of impressive growth rates in many African countries and the Forum’s reputation as the meeting-place where you can do business and create opportunities for future business makes AEF 2012 the African power event that the industry must attend. The following delegate demographics demonstrate that the Africa Energy Forum is Africa’s premier annual international meeting place.

8 government ministers participating to date:

Jean Jacques Bouya, Minister of Public Works, Republic of the Congo, Isak Katali, Minister of Mines and Energy, Namibia, Elton Mangoma, Minister of Energy & Power Development, Zimbabwe, Salvador Namburete, Minister for Energy, Mozambique, William Ngeleja, Minister of Energy & Minerals, Tanzania, Dipuo Peters, Minister for Energy, South Africa, Philipp Rosler, Minister of Economics and Technology – BMWi, Germany, Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, Deputy Minister of Energy, Ghana

To see a full list of confirmed speakers, please visit our speakers page

Event dates:
Conference:  26-28 June 2012
Pre-conference workshops:  26 June 2012
Site visit:  28 June 2012
Website: www.energynet.co.uk
Event location:  Estrel Hotel and Convention Centre, Berlin

For more information about this press release please contact:
Amy Offord
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7384 8068
Email:  amy@energynet.co.uk