HomeRegional NewsAfricaKeynote 26 October: On the road to COP26

Keynote 26 October: On the road to COP26

Tuesday 26 October 2021

08h00 GMT | 09h00 London | 09h00 Lagos |
10h00 Johannesburg | 11h00 Nairobi 

Duration: 60 minutes 

Keynote session: On the road to COP26

The 26th United Nations Climate Change Conference of the Parties, COP26, will gather the world’s interested parties, physically and digitally, to “accelerate action towards the goals of the Paris Agreement and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change” at the beginning of November. 

As world leaders prepare for COP26, we ask what outcomes Africa requires from the COP discussions and what the international community needs to do to make the energy transition meaningful. What role must Africa play in furthering the journey to NetZero, what is the impact on utilities and what steps have been taken thus far on the road to COP26? 

Eskom’s transformation – what to expect
– Andre de Ruyter, Group Chief Executive, Eskom, South Africa

Africa and COP26 – the position of the African Group of Negotiators on Climate Change
– Tanguy Gahouma-Bekale, Chair, African Group of Negotiators on Climate Change, Gabon

How COP26 could provide the launchpad for Africa’s energy transition
– Haruperi Mumbengegwi, Legal Counsel – Power Sector, African Legal Support Facility, African Development Bank
– Faith Odongo, Senior Deputy Director of Renewable energy, Ministry of Energy, Kenya

Join our lineup of African experts as they discuss not only the road to COP26 and its impact on the power sector, but also consider how current plans will impact on the future of Africa’s energy sector.

LATEST FEATURES